American Kenpo
My Journey Learning American Kenpo

The PACE Program Review

Before joining 24 Hour Fitness, I began researching “cardio” type workouts.  I came across the PACE program by Dr. Al Sears.  You can find it here:

http://www.alsearsmd.com/google/ppace/ – Get it for $19.95 as an e-book

To be a bit of a critic, the ad page at the above URL follows a layout pattern that can be compared to bogus web marketers.  I would not say it’s necessarily a bad thing, but more often than not, for anyone who’s been on the web long enough who comes across web ad copy as such, usually relates it to a bunch of garbage.  But I’m not going to give Dr. Sears a hard time about it because, after all, he is a doctor, and I’m sure he pays someone to produce his web material.  So, if this ad copy at the above URL makes you suspicious, Dr. Sears does offer a 100% money back guarantee.  Anyway, onto the review.

The PACE program is something new to me.  To my surprise, by doing martial arts, it’s in many ways prepared me for this PACE program.  Basically, its a period of time of resting exercise, followed by a period of time of an all out go for it sprint, so to speak.  So, for 10 minutes, I’ve been doing stair master.  What I do is 2 minutes of a comfortable warm up level on the stair master, then I do 2 minutes of fast pace, followed by 2 minutes of rest to let my heart rate come back down, then 2 minutes to get it back up there again, then ended with 2 minutes of a cool down.  The whole idea is to build your “on demand” system.

When I first read the PACE program, I was relieved because I absolutely hate to do “cardio”.  So, to know that one can build an extremely healthy cardiopulmonary system with periods of rest and burst made me very happy, because I actually enjoy doing that.  The PACE program’s ultimate goal is to shorten your “burst” periods and lengthen your “rest” periods.  An example would be being able to handle 30 seconds of a stair master’s fastest setting, followed by 3 minutes of rest.  Of course, you would have to build up to that, but in the process, you’ll not only build up your “on demand” cardiopulmonay system, but also build lots of muscle.

The PACE program is like creating a V8 engine in your body, instead of a 4 cylinder that would only be required for long distance endurance.  Try to go full torque with your body if you’ve only been building a 4 cylinder engine.  That’s  what Dr. Sears discusses.  He says that’s why runners will sometimes collapse and die from a heart attack.  They have conditioned their bodies for long distance steady effort.  In essence, their cardiopulmonary system has adapted into a small efficient machine.  The problem that lies with that is when the body requires bursts of high power.  That small engine can’t handle that stress when it’s demanded.

I thought I’d review the PACE program because it’s what I’ve been doing to complement my weight training.  Both me and my wife do it and it has helped me immensely.  For instance, when practicing at Kenpo class, I tend to go all out.  Last monday, I practiced with a teenager who was considerably smaller than me.  No big deal, we went crazy and had a blast.  When we were done, the teenager was panting and sweating beads just like me and he is in good shape.  Also, Kenpo in itself is perfect for the PACE program.  It requires bursts of energy just as described.  One could actually develop their cardiopulmonary system doing only Kenpo with the right organized workout and intensity.

In fact, the ebook gives you workout examples using different activities.  Little did I know it, but I was actually doing something similar to the PACE program when I would practice Kenpo at home.  Any activity like kicking, shadow boxing, doing techniques, and bagwork can fit with this program.  Jumping rope, jumping jacks, walking, sprinting, swimming, it really doesn’t matter.  What’s important is the time and intensity of your workout.

What I like about the program is how Dr. Sears explains the physiology behind this program and how it turns on your body’s ability to burn fat, even when you are not working out.  He not only goes into great details as to how to do this program, but why to do this program.  I think I’ve touched a bit as to the why part.  Small engine build for minimal output over long periods of time vs big engine ready for maximum power at a moments notice.  A big engine can also drive long distances as well.  At least that’s how I understand it after my read of his e-book.

I highly recommend this PACE program.  It’s educational to those who are only aware of typical “cardio” and “interval” type training methods.  I’m still learning myself, so I hope this review helps those considering purchasing.  Heck, it’s only $19.95.  The link above at the beginning of this review provides a discount from his $27.95 price tag directly from his website here:

http://www.alsearsmd.com/catalog/

Best of luck.

===========================

UPDATE:  2/22/10

It’s been nearly 8 months since I posted this review of Dr. Sear’s PACE program.  So, what have I done with this program?  How has it helped me?  Let me explain.

Since I started learning how to live a healthier lifestyle nearly 2 years ago, I have read books on the subject, found helpful advice, and have purchased products to assist in this undertaking.  The PACE program exists for me today as part of an arsenal to help me continue toward a healthier me.

Have I lost an astronomical amount of weight?  Lately, no.  Have I maximized my fitness efforts recently?  Unfortunately, no.  However, what I have done is incorporate the concepts of the PACE program into the exercise routines I perform regularly.  That’s what is so great about the PACE program.  It is so simple and can be done with just about any type of physical activity.

You can follow the PACE program by doing it on an expensive piece of cardio equipment or you can do it by performing something as simple as jumping jacks.  How I do the PACE program may be very different than what most may visualize.  To put it simply, I do the PACE program around a kickboxing format.  That’s a very basic description of the actual actions I perform, but what I’m doing is not as important as how I am doing it.

Do anything with the pedal to the metal and you’re going to get tired quick, especially if it’s been a while since you’ve pushed yourself like that physically.  Do this on a regular basis and you’re doing the basics of the PACE program.  With time, you’ll find that you’ll have this “on demand” ability to handle intense physical activity in such bursts as the PACE program teaches.  However, what you’ve got to ask yourself is how you gauge a program’s success.

Does the PACE program work because it produces athletes that are cut with six pack abs and veins popping out of their chests and shoulders?  I don’t see testimonials of people like this on Dr. Sear’s web site.  So, why should anyone consider this as a viable product.  Personally, I don’t see the PACE program as anything but known concepts explained and organized in an effective manner by a physician who understands how to translate such concepts for everyone to understand and benefit from.  I had heard of these concepts before buying the PACE program, but I didn’t fully understand how it all worked and how to best utilize such knowledge.

Today, I carry those concepts with me to utilize how I see fit.  I believe that’s what is important about the PACE program or any other fitness product on the market.  It’s up to the individual to define what their goals are and what they want to achieve.  For myself, I am very happy that I am able to perform at the level of fitness I am currently capable of.  It’ s not something I could do a few years ago.  I’ve realized that it’s not about what you can accomplish in the shortest amount of time possible.  What is important is what you make habit and routine.

It would do no good to get into astronomical shape and then in a few short months revert to your previous bad habits.  Also, it does no good to set unrealistic goals that may only lead to disappointment and failure.  Maybe for some, it may work, but for myself, I prefer the big picture and maintaining over the long haul.  I believe it’s the healthy habits one creates for a lifetime that brings about continual success.

I do the PACE program with martial arts.  Try doing roundhouse kicks to a heavy bag for 3 minutes straight.  Or a boxing pattern on a heavy bag.  Side kicks in the air over and over again.  The list goes on and on.  Try doing these things as hard and as fast as you can go.  I’m telling you, no matter what it is that you do, this type of workout will bust you up.  However, what you’ll notice over time, as you do it more and more, is you will get less winded, you will recover faster, and you will get stronger.  It’s simply amazing to experience this.

Running down a hallway, going up the stairs, or a quick jog becomes laughingly easy.  I’ve caught myself wondering why I’m not out of breath, because I remember those days of doing such simple things and having to stop to catch my breath.  This is how I know the PACE program works.  This is how I know regular exercise is good for you.  I’ve been an out of shape embarrassment to myself.  I don’t ever want to return to that sad state again.

When I attend Kenpo class, I sweat because these classes are a workout.  However, I’m able to handle it with ease now.  I have the energy and stamina to get going and keep going.  This is a good feeling and proves to me that exercise truly does release endorphins.  It took me a long time to get where I am today.  I took it slow and gave myself much forgiveness.  I have much more I wish to accomplish in my fitness endeavors.  All in good time.

If you find yourself beginning the PACE program, no matter your level of fitness or your fitness goals, find something you love to do and apply the concepts of the PACE program to those activities.  Personally, I find doing the PACE program on a treadmill or other cardio equipment very boring.  What I like about martial arts is that it is a physical activity that teaches you unique ways to move your body.  It requires practice to become proficient, so what better way to practice than to incorporate the concepts of the PACE program.

However, the above is just one example.  Tae Bo type classes are the same way.  You have to learn the moves in order to do the class.  The better you become at the moves, the more you can push yourself in class.  You could do the PACE program with dance moves if so desired.  The PACE program is about an approach to exercise, not the actual exercises performed.  Choose what you want to do and just do it.  That’s what I’ve done and it works for me.

How I view my fitness goals is based upon activity, not physical appearance.  If weight loss, muscle gain, and fat loss, etc happen, then that is a bonus.  What I’m able to do physically is more important to me than how I look or what size jeans I can wear.  Of course, I have an image in my mind of how I’d like to look.  However, concentrating on that image I’ve found to be rather defeating.  That’s why I enjoy martial arts so much.  If you work hard at something, you’ll eventually be able to do it.  I’m able to gauze how I am doing fitness wise by my regular martial arts training, not by looking in the mirror.  By constantly striving to be able to perform better in some physical manner can only bring about a continual momentum toward a higher level of physical health.  As gains are made again and again, the body will follow suit, as will the mind.  At least that’s my take from my own experience.  Although not related to the PACE program, I find this to be an important consideration for myself.

6 Responses to “The PACE Program Review”

  1. I have started Dr. Sear’s PACE weight loss system this week. Although it makes sense to me, I wanted to see reviews from ordinary people, not people that are in his book. I would like to know from time to time how it is working out for you, although it sounds like you are already in shape.

  2. From my point of view, Dr. Sear’s Pace program provided me with expanded knowledge to add to a collective of information available to me to assist in my own fitness goals. It’s been nearly 2 years since I started living a healthier lifestyle. I’m not at my “dream” fitness level. However, when I look back at how bad off I was, I am considerably in much better shape. Compared to others, I’m probably middle of the road fitness wise, but that definition is really subjective. I’m older, so what can an almost 40 year old guy really do to impress the masses? What I do for myself is what keeps me going.

    I’ll post an update to this article to explain more about how the Pace program has helped me.

  3. I am interested in hearing more.

  4. Excellent review, exactly what I was searching for. Something without all the froth and bubble and just tell how this technique can be applied in my life. Look forward to more updates.

  5. I was recommended Pace by my physician. But…he didn’t quite get to explaining it. I do it on a treadmill. What do you consider “fast pace”. What is “point of exhaustion”? Do you use the RATE OF PERCEIVED EXERTION concept?

  6. When I was doing the P.A.C.E. workout, I was at my healthiest! I got away from it and have not been at my best. I AM RETURNING WITH HOPE AND DETERMINATION! To feel good again with minimum time and effort is senseless to not proceed with this program. Thank you, Dr. Sears.
    This is not a paid endorsement. This is from a 62 year young woman!


Leave a comment